Phuket and Passport

Back in 2011, I traveled to Phuket with a friend called Pika. Or some may call her Bojes. It was from 27 February to 3 March. I have just won an essay competition and used the money to travel. To date, it was my (our) first experience travelling abroad without my (our) parents.

phuket-bangla-road-patong-beach-thailand

Everything was nice from day one. Only for the first night, we stayed in a very nice hotel, sponsored by our parents. Had stupid moments even in that first night, moved out to a more ‘traveler-like’ hotel, went around the city, ate amazingly tasty food, and, so on and so forth. We strolled down to the famous Bangla Road to have a little drink, a little chat, and observe the lady boys. Too bad I was such a nice girl back then. I hardly manage to do anything even nearly crazy or out of mind.

phuket-city-tour-temple-thailand

If you asked, of course we went to see the Simon Cabaret Show. It-is-a-must-go in Phuket. Well, not really. We were just curious about the lady boys’ performances and it was not bad. We did not find suitable Thai Boxing schedule to watch, but we found a very cheap package to explore Phi Phi Island, our main destination. But before that, let’s just get back to how amazing the food was.

phuket-seafood-thai-food-thailand

And the D-Day came. We took a ferry to explore Phi Phi, went snorkeling, ate Wall’s Magnum ice cream for the first time in our lives.. and realized that I lost my passport just before we stepped on the boat which would bring us back to Phuket.

phuket-phi-phi-islands-bat-caves-boat-cruise-thailand

So how did I lose my passport? I put it in a plastic bag, and apparently, I left it. Somewhere. Someone must have thrown that plastic bag away, thinking that it was only some trash left by tourists. With the support of a lot of people that we met along the way, we managed to take a bus to, guess what, Bangkok.

phuket-bangkok-intercity-bus-thailand

Thank God my mom did gave me a 100 USD bill which can only be used “for emergency.” Well, losing my passport WAS an emergency, so I spent 55 USD to pay the temporary passport, in order to be able to go back home. The moral of the story is, never put your passport in a plastic bag. Ever!

Leave a Reply

