A Door to Kotor

During my Croatian trip in Summer 2014, I had a chance to visit other countries as well. Initially I wanted to visit Kotor (Montenegro), Mostar (Bosnia and Herzegovina), and Ljubljana (Slovenia). Apparently I enjoyed my time in Split too much so I did not make the Croatia-Bosnia crossing, and Ljubljana was raining when I was there. But I thank God over and over again that I still had the will to visit Kotor because so far, it is my favourite, favourite destination.

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-1

Kotor is reachable by bus from Dubrovnik. I would say that Dubrovnik is the best door to Kotor as it will only take around 3-4 hours to get there. The seaside view along the way is also absolutely stunning. If you have European Residence Card (temporary ones also work) or a Schengen Visa, there should be no problem in the border.

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-2

The old town of Kotor is a citadel. Meaning, the town is fortified. You know, there were times when battles were part of everyday life in Europe, and one of the best way to attack a region is – apparently – through the sea. The city now has a nice laid-back vibe. You can hear traditional music played in some cafes around you and people stroll without any rush. In the middle of the way, I found a hiking track to the top of the fortress.

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-3

I simply paid the three euros entrance fee and started hiking. As I walked and walked, the gray sky started to open up. On one side, it is good for my camera and of course, it brought hope for me as in I would not be spending my time in Kotor only sitting somewhere to protect myself from the rain. On the other hand, it made my hike a lot harder. I needed to catch my breath once in a while. But when I reached the view points.. It was worth it.

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-church-1

Kotor is absolutely impressive. The fortified city, the church in the middle of the hike, the harbour, the mountains, the open sea. It is just perfect.

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-4

And this is what you get from the other side..

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-5

Thanks to this hike, my Dr. Marten’s Boots had their first scar. I guess they are more familiar with soil than with stones.

bay-of-kotor-montenegro-citadel-fort-6

But overall, I fell in love with Kotor!

3 comments on “A Door to Kotor

Leave a Reply

