Changing Season and Fate in Krka

When you hear the word “Croatia” and “National Park,” one other word that you will hear is probably “Plitvice.” Well if you asked, I did go to Plitvice during my Croatian trip, but it was raining. Non stop. It was still beautiful, but I did not capture any good pictures of Plitvice. Yes, I know, too bad.

But! I did visit another National Park called “Krka.” It is not as well-known as Plitvice, but something Krka can offer that Plitvice can’t is, we are allowed to swim near the waterfall! As I have told you in this post, the big theme of my Croatian trip is “swimming.” Of course, Krka was included in my itinerary.

krka-national-park-croatia-1

Krka is reachable by bus either from Split or Zadar. Me I went from Split. After arriving to the registration point, we will be taken by a boat to the National Park. Actually, there are two registration points. The one which includes boats and the one which includes a little hike. I decided to take a boat first and take the hiking track to go home. Bad decision, I tell you. Bad decision.

First thing I saw when I get out of the boat: “NO SWIMMING” sign. Sigh. Apparently the swimming season was over. Rainy-fall season was coming so the water level was really high. Swimming was then prohibited. This, is the place, where I should have been swimming..

krka-national-park-croatia-2

But on the other side, changing season gave us colors! If I was there during the ‘real’ summer, I would have only seen green, green leafs. That’s it. Thank God I had this..

krka-national-park-croatia-3

And this..

krka-national-park-croatia-4

Now can we please, talk about the water. Can-we-pleaaase talk about the water. It was as clear as pearl. And best thing was, there were not many tourists!

krka-national-park-croatia-7

And of course, along the track, I found picturesque spots. Which is always better without any people in it.

krka-national-park-croatia-5

By the end of the track, there were souvenir shops. One thing that attracted me the most were these handmade necklaces. Can you just see how cute they are?

krka-national-park-croatia-6

These are Glagolitic Alphabets. The oldest known Slavic Alphabet. You can read all about it here. I wanted to buy them as a souvenir, too bad I did not bring much cash. And thank God that I did save that ‘not much’ cash, because…..

I was, well, lost. Going home through the hiking track was apparently a bad, bad decision, especially it was Saturday when buses are not as often. Shortly I walked, like…….. 15 km or more. Through the highway. To reach Sibenik. A town where I can take a bus back to Split. I even tried to ‘cut’ paths through ‘human tracks’ that I found along the way…….. which led me nowhere but a forests. Away from the sound of any vehicles. As the sun began to set.

If it is not ‘fate’ we are talking about I might not still be here today.

Never again in my entire life will I do that. Never.

Leave a Reply

